Regional first responders honored by American Legion Post 49

Published 6:53 pm Friday, March 10, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

First responders from Isle of Wight County were honored at a ceremony on Feb. 21 hosted by Dashiell-Barlow American Legion Post 49, of Smithfield.

A Post 49 news release stated that the following officers and volunteers were recognized for their outstanding support for the local community and performance of duty:

  • Taylor Brown, Carrollton Volunteer Fire Department — Station 10;
  • Katie Bryant, Isle of Wight Department of Emergency Services;
  • Daniel A. Crocker, Windsor Police Department; 
  • Beth Jewell, Isle of Wight County Sheriff’s Office;
  • Paul Jones, Smithfield Police Department;
  • Jay Keopke, Smithfield Volunteer Fire Department — Station 50;
  • Jalante R. Manns, Virginia State Police Area 34;
  • Capt. John Price, Rushmere Volunteer Fire Department — Station 20; 
  • Jelisa Reid, Isle of Wight County Sheriff’s Office; and 
  • Dwain Rodman, Isle of Wight Volunteer Rescue Squad — Station 60.

Awardees were presented certificates of appreciation by Post Commander Jerry Starling and their respective organization’s chief or supervisor. 

Windsor Mayor George Stubbs addressed the attendees, recognizing those being honored and thanking the American Legion for leading the program. 

Legionnaire Albert Burkard organized the event.